Posted by: dragonfur | February 16, 2011

93 Faceless Portraits

Once upon a time, I bred and showed purebred cats–Oriental Shorthairs and Siamese, to be exact.  One of my two foundation males was Sorceress Glassdragon of Lionsleeps, a fantastic ebony male who just happened to also be the love of my life.

When Dragon died at age 7 1/2 of liver disease, I had him cremated, and his remains came back to me in a small cedar box.

Over the years, I lost some Dragon sons and daughters, and grandsons and granddaughters, some to liver disease (which appears to have been hereditary), some to the devastating feline disease, FIV, or Feline Immunodeficiency Virus, aka Feline Aids, one or two to cancer, and some to the infirmities of old age.  Those who were nearest and dearest to my heart joined the Dragon in their own little cedar boxes.

These days, I have a small memorial, a small wooden sleeping cat surrounded by the Dragons whose ashes I have kept near me.  Call it morbid, call it nuts, call it whatever you wish.  I call it love, respect, and mourning.  Sorrow heals somewhat, the raw edges smooth out, but the black hole that dragons leave behind when they die remains.  These are ones I’ve loved, and still love today.  Ones I will love always.  They are in this photo, but their faces will be seen only by me in my memory.  So, for them, the title “Faceless Portraits.”

Responses

  1. A lovely tribute. I have the ashes from one cat, but haven’t done anything with them in 5 1/2 years. They are exactly as they arrived. I might put her in my garden this year.

  2. I, too, have kitty ashes – just one urn. My daughter has two. We love our cats because they wrap their paws around our hearts. I think all the dead deserve a memorial of some kind. I like how you call them your dragons!

    • Thank you all! Bobbi, I call them my dragons, because they are all offspring (or grand-offspring) of The Glassdragon. Everyone from him was either named after a dragon, or had Dragon in their names. (And they did tend to have a bit of dragonish temperament at times! And I loved each and every one of them!)

  3. What a beautiful memorial you have formed…I don’t call it nuts, I call it LOVE!

  4. so soft and sweet memories.


Leave a Reply

Categories

