Posted by: dragonfur | December 4, 2011

303 The Letter B (is for Bonfire)

As this year nears the end, I find I must share the last photo taken of my precious Bonfire, taken the morning of his last day.  The left hind leg, the stifle joint damaged beyond repair, is visible, the swollen, stiffened joint prominent.  This is what he lived with for two months, until his “good” leg and his back began to trouble him as well.

I will miss him forever, and I feel incredibly privileged to know him, to “own” him, to love him.  He was one in a million, and he was mine.  My heart is still raw, will be for a long time, but I am comforted knowing that he is no longer suffering.  (I wish I could say the same for me.)

Responses

  1. So sorry for your loss of your dear companion.

  2. Losing a beloved and precious part of the family is such a difficult thing. I’m so sorry. Bonfire was certainly a beauty. RIP Bonfire.

  3. Thank you both.

    Although I lost him on June 20, I’ve not been able to look at the photos I took of him that morning until just recently. I have more still on the card that I have not been able to get to yet.

    (It was on those photos that my camera pphhhzzzztttted out on me. Should be getting it fixed–in January. Just in time for 2012 challenge.)

    I have his ashes and some mane & tail hairs. I have a friend who will make a nice pendant out of the hair to hang on his urn. It’ll have a light blue stone and a brown one, to match his one blue eye and his one brown one.

  4. I am so sorry for your loss. He was a pretty boy.

  5. He’s beautiful and I bet you have lots of great memories and photos. So sad, I’m sorry for you as I know how hard it is loosing a fourlegged friend

  6. Always tough losing a friend but at least you were enriched by him for his time here. You were very lucky.
    Great photo by the way….not the ‘normal’ type.

    • Yes, I was lucky my life was graced with his presence and his friendship. Special, funny little guy.


Leave a Reply

Categories

