Posted by: dragonfur | March 8, 2013

No More Chickens (For Now)

No More Chickens (For Now)

I sold the last six hens last night. I’ve had such bad luck with the last couple of batches, they’ve just become too much trouble (although these six really weren’t).

Adding the two senior mares to my barn has changed things. I have enough energy & time for nine horses, but I just don’t have enough for nine horses AND chickens.

I may get more chickens later–next year, maybe?–but if I decide to, I’ve got some changes and repairs I need to make to the coop and pen before I do. (I’ve been toying with the idea of getting some Bantams. Little things, and SO beautiful, they’d fit right in with the little horses, don’t you think?)

But I think I’ll enjoy the lightening of my load for a bit.

Now, time to get the garden started . . .

Leave a Reply

Categories

