Posted by: dragonfur | February 13, 2015

Garden Growing … Again

My garden has now expanded to 50′ x 50′!  I won’t be planting it all this spring, as some of it needs to age a bit (I’ve been emptying manure and shavings onto the new plots to enrich and “season” the soil.)  Instead of one plot, tilled and planted fence to fence–which has made it REALLY difficult to get through to the back–I have marked out 6 plots of varying sizes, plus about 60% of the original garden area.  I’ve left a path large enough to get the lawn tractor around the fence and between most of the plots (push mower will be necessary for a couple of places), so the weeds won’t be allowed to take over (can’t guarantee the grasshoppers won’t…).

I have onions out, planted at the end of January.  In the next couple of weeks, I will add cabbage, Brussels sprouts, carrots, beets, and whatever else I decide to add for an early spring crop.  Corn, tomatoes, bell peppers, and squash will come later.

Pictures coming later…

Leave a Reply

Categories

